Pieces

(What’s) In a Name?

I was filling out the form to change my last name. It gave me the option to change my first name too. This option led me to wonder: what if I changed my first name, what would it be, what is the significance of my names?

I have always loved names. I collect them, like a stamp collector collects stamps. I file them away, categorizing them: aliases if I were an author, names for a spunky heroine, names for my future sons & daughter.

My name is Sofia. Sofia means “wisdom”.

My middle name is my great grandmother’s maiden name. It is also similar to the Spanish word for “red” (my Mom’s favorite color). I am blessed with a second middle name, Fe. I am named Fe because my parents exercised faith that I may be healthy, because they had so little money.

What’s in a name? There are little stories in mine.

I am blessed because of the gifts my parents gave me when they named me.

I have wisdom, family and faith in my name.

Standard

Leave a Reply

